I am over being self-conscious.

I “officially” decided this when I went to Boston.  My friends took me to a beautiful beach in Rhode Island. 

However I am finding that self confidence is a difficult thing to maintain!

This is most often seen in the questions most women (and men) ask themselves when they get ready for the beach.
  • Which Bathing Suit should I bring?
  • Should I bring a one- piece? and if I don’t should I bring shorts?
Once I had arrived at the beach I was nervousness and had to pep talk myself into taking my clothes off and leaving myself wearing only my bikini.

I had finally won the war I had been having with myself and society with these three arguments.
  1. I know no one here, and seriously no one is going to pay attention to me, they are busy with their own life as I am mine. Those who do pay attention to me and judge me harshly (which is ultimately what we are all afraid of) are not worth my time.
  2. There are all sorts of body shapes, styles, colors, heights and widths. Of course there are going to be people in better shape than you as well as “less socially acceptable” than you. Our bodies are constantly changing! So love your body because it’s yours, and if you can’t love your own, then who else can?
  3. I will have more fun once I am able to just let go and not worry.

We’ve all heard this before, But these are the things that always stuck out to me, and have really planted themselves in my brain.
These points are the most realistic and simple.  Making them the easiest to follow.  I try to apply this to everything, and it’s becoming easier!

I’ve spent time with friends who are constantly concerned with what they were going to look like because of what everyone else thought of them, not even paying attention to what they think of themselves.  In the end, They didn’t think anything of themselves! I was noticing that when I was around specific people, their constant worry, and their concern with looks was rubbing off on me when I was with them.  It felt like a competition more than a friendship.
Sadly those friends are no longer. 

I am not going invest energy and time into people who are constantly judging me. I am confident in myself I don’t want someone who is going to take that happiness away from me.

I am not perfect, no one is, and never will be.  Why is it that we keep striving to be?

In the end I had a Blast! and was able to relax and I was present in mind and body!

So next time you go to the beach, or get ready for a night out, or are simply going to class. Be yourself so you can have fun!! Because you’re already amazing.



Leave a Reply.