Hi I’m Ann and I think I may be addicted to Video Games,

Now I should distinguish that I think I’m more of  a “recovering” Video game addict. I have spent countless hours playing WoW, Little Big Planet, Metal Gear, Star Wars Battlefront, and more.  Not to mention I too, was sucked into farmville and all those silly Facebook, and flash games. Of course it got in the way of my life! I was doing no good in school (although that the video games were a direct link is still under investigation) and my friends would have to physically pick me from my room for me to leave. I played ALL the time.

I have always enjoyed simply sitting there and watch people play game as well.  I love watching people play! To me it's almost as good as playing myself.

Once I graduated High School I aimed for a change, that I would not spend 15/24 hours a day playing games. I succeeded. I hardly played anything for a long time. I still kept up with reviews and the latest.   And I still watched people play games while I multi-tasked, cause I thought I could attempt to get something done while still enjoying them.

Here is where my realization of game addiction occurred.

My friend Gary was not feeling well, and went to lay down.  Now as a lot of people know there was the Sony fiasco with hackers and down servers blah, blah.  So once that was over along with the Welcome Back program I needed to change my PSN password and download some games! (I never turn anything down that’s free!)

My friend who was online at the time just got Killzone 3, and was not leaving it. So I thought hmm Killzone does sound pretty good, and I played #2. My aiming was bad, and I had to get used to it, since I haven’t played (especially FPS) in a very long time.  Even then I thought I was unstoppable.

I did this for hours.  It’s like nothing else in the world is happening.

So Gary had gone to the store for.. I don’t even know how long.  I didn’t even notice he left! HA! All I know was I was still playing and he walked in through the front door. When I said "Umm Where did you go??" He responded with he had went to WalMart three hours ago.

For the next few days I was obsessed with wanting to finish the game! It's all I would think of.

I started thinking, maybe myself playing video games is a problem.

I have to try super hard not to let games consume my time! I don’t think they are bad, obviously I love them.  However with my super busy hectic school schedule I cannot afford to get sucked in.

This is very common that once you start a game you have to finish it, and there is much time involved, it’s the nature of video games. I am not nearly as bad as some people I know… But the potential for me to become just like them is strong.

So now I have to take a different approach to gaming.  I cannot simply run out buy a game and beat it.  I have follow some rules.
  1. I cannot have anything going on in terms of school. So no games while classes are in session.
  2. I have to give myself a time limit. (Usually about 3 hours per day. but this depends on what is going on.)
  3. I have to have the available funds. (No favors for games! :P )
  4. I have to remember there is more to the world than games.

I tested these rules with Portal 2, and was successful!! I just set aside a weekend and knocked it out.

So now I am following these rules with Diablo III.  Although in a multiplayer setting these rules are much much harder to follow!

It takes the support of you friends while I am still fighting the battle of addiction.

How much time do you spend gaming?




Leave a Reply.